Photo Store
Article Image
Courtesy: Stockton Photo Inc.

Petersen Earns All-MAAC Recognition

          Release: 05/09/2013
Print RSS

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY - Iona College softball senior Jodi Petersen was named to the 2013 All-MAAC First Team, as announced Thursday evening at the MAAC Championship banquet.

In her final season in Maroon & Gold, Petersen connected on a hit team 46 hits with one home run, 10 runs batted in and scored a team best 29 runs.  She also produced a team high 14 multi-hit games.

Petersen departs the Gaels as the team's all-time leader in runs, games played, at bats and hits.  She is also in the top 10 in home runs, runs batted in and stolen bases.

It marks Petersen's third career All-MAAC honor, following a First Team selection in 2010 and a Second Team selection in 2012.

Additionally, five members of the Iona College softball team were named to the 2013 MAAC Softball All-Academic Team. To be eligible for the MAAC All-Academic Team, a student athlete must complete two semesters at their institution and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale.

Petersen was recognized along with classmates Cari Anderson and Beth Kann. Also receiving Academic Team recognition were junior Katie Jansson and sophomore Brianna Schauer.

2013 MAAC Softball Awards
First Team
Lauren Liseth - Fairfield
Shannon Jones - Siena
Danielle Koltz - Marist
Robin Kennery - Canisius
Kate Bowen - Manhattan
Paige Lloyd - Siena
Kehli Washington - Rider
Lauren Filicia - Fairfield
Jodi Petersen - Iona
Nicole Cheek - Marist
Nicole Cheek - Marist
Elena Bowman - Manhattan
Jessika-Jo Sandrini - Siena
Rae Ball - Fairfield

Second Team
Alyssa Zahka - Marist
Becky Zill - Niagara
Kristen Filicia Fairfield
Amanda Babcock - Manhattan
Meghan Cuda - Canisius
Dana Sensi - Rider
Alexis Wayne - Niagara
Sammy Ruffolo - Fairfield
Mandy Ferro - Siena
Alyssa Lancaster - Siena
Alyssa Zahka - Marist
Jessika-Jo Sandrini - Siena
Emily Osterhaus - Marist

Player of the Year
Lauren Liseth - Fairfield

Pitcher of the Year
Jenn Sansano - Niagara

Rookie of the Year
Nicole Cheek - Marist

Anaconda Sports Coach of the Year
Bill Lajeunesse - Siena

Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels