Photo Store
Article Image

Iona Inducts Five Into Goal Club Hall of Fame

          Release: 06/03/2013
Print RSS

NEW ROCHELLE, NY - The Iona College Athletic Department held its 32nd Annual Goal Club Hall of Fame Golf Outing on Monday, June 3, 2013 at Wykagyl Country Club in New Rochelle.

Five stellar former student athletes and supporters were inducted into the Goal Club Hall of Fame. Football standout and current Rutgers head coach Kyle J. Flood '93, benefactors John '71 and Monica '70 Judge, and Patrick L. Vaccaro P'98) and women's basketball's Martina Weber '07 as the Hall of Fame Class of 2013. Men's Basketball's Kevin F. Vesey '82 was unable to attend the induction dinner and will be honored next June.

The Hall of Fame Dinner also included the presentation of the fourth Donald E. Walsh '66 award, presented annually by the Iona College Goal Club to individuals who have demonstrated loyal support and service to Iona College Athletics through exceptional volunteerism. This year's award was presented with great honor and respect to Marian Casali, a 30+ year veteran of the Iona College athletic department.

The Iona Hall of Fame Golf Outing and Dinner directly benefits the Iona College Goal Club, which is the fund raising arm for Iona's 21-sport athletics program. The donations received from the Hall of Fame Golf Outing will help support scholarships, equipment and other essentials needed to keep Iona College at the forefront of Division I Athletics. Through the support of the community, alumni, families and friends of Iona College, the Goal Club has enabled us to make great strides within our athletic programs.

On behalf of the Athletics Department and all of the student-athletes who will benefit from the generosity of the many people who supported our golf outing, we thank you!

Due to inclement weather this morning, the golf portion of the day has been rescheduled for Monday, Aug. 12 at Wykagyl Country Club.


Kyle FloodKyle J. Flood

Kyle J. Flood ’93 was named head football coach at Rutgers University in 2012. He was the first assistant coach to be promoted to head coach at Rutgers since 1973. Flood earned Big East Co-Coach of the Year honors after completing his first season at the helm of the Scarlet Knights.

While at Iona, Flood played four years of varsity football, from 1989-92. A standout offensive lineman, he earned First Team All-Liberty Conference Honors as a junior and was named team captain as a senior.

Flood joined the Rutgers staff as offensive line coach after three seasons at the University of Delaware. In 2003, he helped guide the Blue Hens to a 15-1 record and NCAA Division I-AA Championship. Previously, he was offensive line coach at Hofstra from 1997-2001. His first college coaching position came in 1995-96 as offensive line coach at Long Island University-C.W. Post.

Flood began his coaching career at his alma mater, St. Francis Prep in 1993, as both offensive and defensive line coach in 1993 and 1994.

John and Monica JudgeJohn & Monica Judge

John ’71 and Monica Judge ’70 have been lifelong supporters of Iona College and its athletics programs. They have both been great ambassadors for the College as members of the President’s Club, Gingko Society and Goal Club. Monica has served as President of the Alumni Board of Directors. John is retired after a 37-year career in the optical industry.

John and Monica received the Brother William B. Cornelia Founders Award for Outstanding Service as well as the second annual Donald E. Walsh ’66 Award in 2011 for exceptional volunteerism in support of Iona Athletics.

The Gaels’ Student-Athlete Academic Center is named in honor of John’s parents, John & Marie Judge. The Judge Lounge in the Hynes Athletics Center is named in memory of William Hulton ‘72. Their son, Jay, is a 2007 graduate of Iona College.



Pat Vaccaro


Patrick L. Vaccaro

A longtime fan and supporter of Iona College and its athletics programs, Pat Vaccaro (P’89) has been following the Iona men’s basketball program since the 1950’s. A member of the Goal Club, he has also served on the College’s Board of Advisory Trustees and has been a major financial contributor to various Iona fundraising efforts. Pat developed the Onofrio and Theresa Vaccaro Scholarship Fund for the purpose of supporting the Iona College Men’s Baseball Team and was a major donor to the Thomas J. Burke Lounge.

Vaccaro is a lifelong resident of New Rochelle and he and his wife Lucille are the proud parents of Lisa (’89), Kimberly, Jennifer and Richard and grandparents to Tyler, Emma, Avery, Grace and Luke. He is co-founder and President of the New Rochelle Basketball Association, a non-profit organization designed – through the vehicle of basketball – to help largely minority students remain in school, excel in their studies and move on to higher education.

Vaccaro is a Partner in the national workplace law firm of Jackson Lewis LLP and is a member of the Firm’s Management Committee. From 2006 to 2012, Vaccaro served as the Firm-Wide Managing Partner leading the Firm through an era of unprecedented growth and success.

Martina WeberMartina Weber

Martina Weber ’07 is the most decorated women’s basketball player in Iona College history. In two seasons with the Gaels, Weber twice earned First Team All-MAAC honors and in 2007 she was Iona’s first-ever Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Player of the Year. Weber ranks No. 3 on Iona’s all-time scoring average list with 16.1 points per game and is the all-time leader in field goal percentage after converting on 52.8% of her shot attempts.

Weber joined the Gaels after playing in her native Germany. In her first season she appeared in 25 games and averaged a team best 15.3 points and 6.6 rebounds per game. She finished in the top five in the MAAC in scoring, rebounding and field goal percentage.

During the 2006-07 season, Weber helped Iona reach the postseason for the first time in program history. The Gaels went on to defeat Long Island University at home in the first round of the Women’s NIT before succumbing to Indiana University in round two. She poured in nearly 30 points per game during the tournament.

Following her senior campaign, Weber was selected by the New York Liberty with the 29th pick in the 2007 WNBA draft, becoming the first-ever draft pick for both Iona and the MAAC in the nation’s top professional league. She played one season with the Liberty before returning to Europe to play professionally in Moscow, Russia.

Marian CasaliDonald E. Walsh ‘66 Award

For the fourth year, the Don Walsh Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated loyal support and service to Iona College Athletics through exceptional volunteerism.

Marian Casali has dedicated a large part of her life to Iona College. She has worked for the college in many capacities for over 30 years – working tirelessly to see the College and the athletics department prosper.

Previous Award Winners: The Iona 5ers, 2012; John & Monica Judge, 2011; and Donald E. Walsh, 2010.

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above
Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels