VOTE MACHADO!! MBB Senior a Cousy Finalist
Release: Monday 02/06/2012

SPRINGFIELD, MA - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today the 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the below list of 11 student-athletes.

Iona College men's basketball senior Scott Machado was announced among the 11 finalists. 

"We are excited to announce this year's final 11 candidates, as they all exemplify the skills and talent necessary to make an elite point guard" said John L. Doleva, President & CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "The Hall of Fame looks forward to watching these players compete for one of college basketball's most prestigious awards."

"The list is getting harder and harder to trim down" said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award. "We have so many elite college point guards that represent what Mr. Cousy epitomized as a player."

Beginning Monday, February 6th, via the Bob Cousy Award's website -  - fans will be able to vote for the top point guard. The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote. Fan voting will run one month - beginning February 6th and will conclude March 6th.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year's recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto

The current listing of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to five players on March 8th. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday, April 2nd in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level - professional, collegiate, men and women.

For more information:
Visit us on the web: 
... on Facebook:
... on Twitter: @hoophall
... or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA

2012 Bob Cousy Award 11 Finalists
Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Scott Machado, Iona
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
Scoop Jardine, Syracuse
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above

IONA Men's Basketball


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages