Goose, Joly-Testault Named O'Connell Award Winners
Release: Friday 05/03/2013

LARCHMONT, NY - A pair of Iona College cross country / track and field seniors headlined the 2012 Senior Awards Banquet as the school's 2013 Joseph E. O'Connell Award Winners. Mitch Goose and Marion Joly-Testault were named Iona's most outstanding senior student-athletes tonight at the Larchmont Shore Club.

The Joseph E. O’Connell Award is named for Iona’s first outstanding athlete. The son of immigrants, Joe O’Connell grew up in Corpus Christi Parish, Morningside Heights, and played basketball for the Brothers at All Hallows High School. Arriving at Iona in 1941, Joe joined the squad coached by Br. Arthur A. Loftus, CFC, and became the Gaels’ leading scorer his freshman season with 242 points. After Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II, Joe, together with most of his classmates, enlisted in the military. On September 5, 1943, Cpl. Joseph E. O’Connell, U.S. Army Air Corps, was killed in the South Pacific. He was the first Iona student to give his life in the service of his country. In 1946, Br. Loftus established this award in the memory of his player, and on December 7, 1948—the seventh anniversary of Pearl Harbor—Br. Loftus dedicated the new Iona field-house as the Joseph E. O’Connell Memorial Gymnasium. Although the gymnasium no longer stands, the talent, grace, and courage of Joe O’Connell continues to be memorialized through the lives of all the Iona Gaels who have earned the Joseph E. O’Connell Award.

Mitch Goose, Cross Country / Track

  • One of the most decorated student-athletes in in Iona College history
  • 2012 MAAC Student-Athlete of the Year, the highest honor given out by the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.
  • Four-time All-American in cross country (2011, 2012), indoor track (2012 3k) and outdoor track (2012 5k)
  • Four-time MAAC Champion in cross country (2012), indoor track (2012 mile, 2012 DMR) and outdoor track (2012 4x800)
  • Named Most Outstanding Performer in the 2012 MAAC Indoor Track and Field Championships
  • Ran the second fastest and second ever sub-four minute mile in Iona history with a MAAC Championship record 3.59.26 and the third fastest 3,000-meter time in school history, 7:51.75 at the UW Husky Classic.
  • Holds the school record in the outdoor 5,000-meter run, a 13:34.41 at the 2012 Payton Jordan Invitational in Stanford, CA while holds Top 10 times in school history in the outdoor 800, 1500, and 3k events.
  • Six-time MAAC All-Academic Team and two-time USTFCCCA Division I All-Academic selection.

Marion Joly-Testault, Cross Country / Track

  • One of the most decorated female student-athletes in Iona College history
  • Four-time All-MAAC selection and was the 2012 MAAC Cross Country champion held at Disney's Wide World of Sports in Lake Buena Vista, FL
  • Earned four individual MAAC Championships on the indoor track including the 2012 and 2013 5000-meter events and 2010 and 2013 3000-meter events. Was also runner up in the 2012 runner up in the 3k.
  • Was named the 2013 MAAC Indoor Track Co-Outstanding Performer for her two individual championships.
  • Set the MAAC Championship Record in the 5,000-meter event with a 16:47.43 in 2011.
  • Became Iona's first ever ECAC Champion with a first place finish in the 10,000-meter event in the 2011 ECAC Championships, running a time of 35:49.70.
  • Four-time MAAC Outdoor Track and Field Champion including three-times in the 5,000-meter (2010, 2011, 2012) and once in the 10,000-meter event (2012). Also was the MAAC runner up in the 2010 10k event.
  • 2012 MAAC Outdoor Track Most Outstanding Performer
  • Was a nine-time MAAC All-Academic Team selection

Three members of Iona's staff and administration were honored with the Br. John G. Driscoll Appreciation Award for their contributions to the athletic department. Iona's Facilities and Grounds Director Andy Albrecht, Director of Financial Aid Mary Grant and Director of Alumni Relations Amy Parise were selected for their support of Iona College Athletics, our student-athletes, coaching staffs and administrators.

Twelve seniors earned the Merit Award for maintaining a 3.5 or above cumulative grade point average were:

Cari Anderson Softball ACS Chemistry
Zach Benoit Men’s Swimming Political Science
Derrick Bligh Baseball Public Accounting
Brandon Crane Men’s Water Polo Finance
Mitch Goose Men’s Cross Country / Track History
Doug Hoppe Golf Finance
Marion Joly-Testault Women’s Cross Country / Track Management
Chrisanne Karcich Women’s Rowing International Studies
Conan Leon Baseball Financial Management
Kara Nowakowski Women’s Swimming English / Spanish
Hollie Rowland Women’s Cross Country / Track Marketing
Alvaro Torrecilla Men’s Soccer Marketing

IONA Athletics


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages