XC Hosts 19th Annual Meet of Champions on Saturday
Courtesy: ICGaels.com  
Release: Thursday 09/19/2013

The Iona College men's and women's cross country teams are set to host the 19th Annual Iona College / Br. John "Paddy" Doyle Meet of Champions on Saturday (Sep. 21) at historic Van Cortlandt Park. The field consists of 20 men's and women's teams in each race featuring regionally ranked teams across NCAA Div. I and II.

Course Map (PDF)
Direct Athletics Meet Home
FastTrack Timing
Meet of Champions Home
Official Meet Program (PDF)

9:30 a.m. - Women's Championship 6K
10:15 a.m. - Men's Championship 8K

19th Annual Iona College / Br. John "Paddy" Doyle Meet of Champions

Highlighted by host and No. 13 ranked Iona College the 2013 Meet of Champions race field consists of 20 teams. The Gaels are ranked second in the Northeast and are joined by regional rivals Yale (No. 8) and Brown (No. 11). Other regionally ranked squads include Mid-Atlantic No. 7 Navy and No. 12 Saint Joseph’s. Division II American International is ranked No. 12 in the country and first in the East region. Adelphi is receiving votes in the national poll and is ranked third in the East. Iona's MAAC foes Manhattan, Marist, Quinnipiac and Siena are also among the race field. Albany, Army, Boston College, Kent State, Monroe College, Northeastern, St. Francis Brooklyn, Saint Joseph’s UMass Lowell and Valparaiso round out the team's competing in the event.

Iona - No. 6 in the Northeast - joins Yale (No. 9), Brown (No. 11) and Saint Joseph’s (Mid-Atlantic No. 11) as Division I squads participating in the race and ranked in their region. Adelphi is ranked No. 4 in the East Region of Divison II. In addition to the Gaels MAAC rivals Manhattan, Marist, Quinnipiac and Siena, the 20 team race field includes: Albany, American International, Army, Colgate, Kent State, Monroe College, Northeastern, St. Francis Brooklyn, St. John’s, UMass Lowell, and Valparaiso.

Nine runners represent the Gaels in this year's race with five making repeat performances from last year. Senior Chris Stogsdill was the team’s top performer with a fourth place finish in 2012. It will be Stogsdill’s fourth Meet of Champions appearance in 2013. Red shirt sophomores Mike O’Dowd (14th) and Otis Ubriaco (27th) join junior Ethan Heywood (35th) as scorers from the third place team finish. Red shirt freshman Kieran Clements competed as an unattached runner in 2012 and was third overall. Red shirt sophomore Jake Byrne races in his second Meet of Champions after running unattached in 2011. Senior Daniel Clorley and freshmen Andy Adamovics and Thomas McClellan make their debut in the event Saturday.

Nine harriers represent Iona at the 2013 Meet of Champions with four competing in last year’s event. Sophomore Kate Avery was the dominating race winner in 2012. Running unattached, she finished 51 seconds ahead of the No. 2 performer in the race. Senior Katie Niblock was seventh overall, senior Leigh Mazzella was 46th, and junior Marlene Delices finished 52nd as scorers for the Maroon & Gold in its fourth place team finish. Niblock competes in her third Meet of Champions in 2013. Senior Courtney Veilleux also makes her third appearance having appeared a freshman and sophomore. Seniors Tara Jameson and Luci McLoughlin and freshmen Maya Rehberg and Zoe Wojtech make their event debuts.

Four top 10 finishers from last year’s race will compete in the 2013 Meet of Champions. Iona redshirt freshman Kieran Clements (running attached in 2013) is the top returning finisher in third place. His teammate Chris Stogsdill finished fourth. Kent Stat’s Steve Fisher came in eighth and was followed by Brown’s Colin Savage in ninth place.

3.)  Kieran Clements   Unattached      25:27.62
4.)  Chris Stogsdill   Iona College    25:31.89
8.)  Steve Fischer     Kent State      25:41.42
9.)  Colin Savage      Brown           25:48.80
14.) Mike O'Dowd       Iona College    25:58.73
16.) Ricardo Galindo   Army            26:02.25
17.) Brendan Boyle     Brown           26:05.55
21.) Anthony Bellitti  Boston College  26:13.43
23.) Andrew Goodwin    Kent State      26:16.46
24.) Jeff Bush         Brown           26:16.97
25.) Mark McGurrin     Brown           26:17.98
27.) Otis Ubriaco      Iona College    26:22.11
29.) Ryan Egan         Siena           26:24.34
35.) Ethan Heywood     Iona College    26:31.49
37.) Samuel Allen      Kent State      26:33.15

Four top 10 performers from the 2012 race return this season, two from Iona and two from Army. Kate Avery (running unattached in 2012) was the race winner while her Gael teammate Katie Niblock was seventh overall. Army’s Elizabeth O’Donnell came right behind Niblock in eighth while Linday Gabow was 10th overall.

1.)  Kate Avery           Unattached    21:19.35
7.)  Katie Niblock        Iona College  22:42.88
8.)  Elizabeth O'Donnell  Army          22:56.84
10.) Linday Gabow         Army          23:05.51
21.) Mindy Sawnor         Kent State    23:33.13
22.) Christie MacFarlane  Siena         23:38.07
24.) Hannah Fleck         Kent State    23:44.87
27.) Paige Foster         Kent State    23:47.64
35.) Rachel Slingluff     Kent State    24:11.22
46.) Leigh Mazzella       Iona College  24:35.65
52.) Marlene Delices      Iona College  24:48.50
53.) Brigid Callaghan     Kent State    24:48.72
56.) Alexandra Cappello   Manhattan     24:57.95
60.) Elizabeth Rosenberg  Manhattan     25:10.05
65.) Alyssa Windle        Manhattan     25:22.69

IONA Men's Cross Country/Track & Field


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages