Photo Store
Article Image

Armand, English, Laury Named To All-Met Teams

          Release: 04/22/2014
Print RSS

NEW YORK, NY - A trio of Iona College men's basketball team performers were named to the 2013-14 All-Met Division I Teams by the Met Basketball Writers Association Tuesday morning. Senior Sean Armand was named to the First Team while sophomore A.J. English was Second Team and junior David Laury was Third Team.

Armand was an All-MAAC First Team performer and MAAC All-Tournament team member in 2014. The Brooklyn native tied for fourth in the MAAC in scoring with 17.5 points per game and fourth overall in assists with 4.1 per game. Armand was also second in the league in three-pointers with 2.9 per game and three-point field goal percentage, converting 44.2% of his attempts. He finished his stellar career with 92 overall wins in 137 career games and is one of the winningest players in school history. His 1,694 career points ranks seventh all-time at Iona.

Armand is a repeat performer on the All-Met First Team as he joined teammate and Haggerty Award Winner Lamont Jones in 2013. He was also an All-MAAC Second Team selection as a junior. It is the third straight season that Iona had an All-Met First Team performer after Armand and Jones in 2013 and Scott Machado and Mike Glover in 2012.

English was also an All-MAAC First Team honoree after finishing sixth in the MAAC in scoring, with 17.2 points per game. He was the third leading playmaker with 4.3 assists per game and also third in the conference with 2.5 3FG per game and minutes played with 36.6 per contest. English bounced back with an outstanding sophomore campaign after being forced to the sidelines in the second half of his rookie campaign due to injury. He was the only non-senior named to the All-MAAC First Team.

Laury was an All-MAAC Second Team performer averaged 14.0 points per game and finished fourth in the MAAC in rebounding averaging 8.3 per contest. He finished second with a 54.9% field goal percentage and was eighth with 1.2 blocks per game. Laury was one of two players (Ike Azotam) in Top 20 in scoring in the MAAC to not record a three-point field goal.

The trio helped the Gaels to its fifth straight 20+ win season, a MAAC regular season title with program record 17 conference wins and a National Invitation Tournament berth.

FIRST TEAM School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
D’Angelo Harrison St. John’s Jr. G 6-4 Missouri City, TX
Sean Armand Iona Sr. G 6-5 Brooklyn, NY
George Beamon Manhattan Sr. G/F 6-4 Roslyn, NY
Jason Brickman LIU Sr. G 6-0 San Antonio, TX
Fuquan Edwin Seton Hall Sr. G 6-6 Paterson, NJ
Jameel Warney Stony Brook So. F 6-8 Plainfield, NJ
SECOND TEAM School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
A.J. English Iona So. G 6-0 Wilmington, DE
Rhamel Brown Manhattan Sr. F/C 6-7 Brooklyn, NY
JaKarr Sampson St. John’s So. F 6-9 Akron, OH
Kyle Wilson Army So. G/F 6-4 Mission Viejo, CA
Alex Rosenberg Columbia Jr. F 6-7 Short Hills, NJ
Branden Frazier Fordham Sr. G 6-3 Brooklyn, NY
THIRD TEAM School Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown
David Laury Iona Jr. F 6-9 East Orange, NJ
Kadeem Jack Rutgers Jr. F 6-9 Queens, NY
Sidney Sanders Jr. FDU Sr. G 5-11 Charleston, SC
Myles Mack Rutgers Jr. G 5-9 Paterson, NJ
Zeke Upshaw Hofstra Gr. F 6-6 Chicago, IL
Eugene Teague Seton Hall Sr. C 6-9 Vineland, NJ

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above
Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels