Armand, Castellanos, Olsen Earn O'Connell Awards
Release: Thursday 05/08/2014

LARCHMONT, NY - Men's basketball's Sean Armand, men's soccer's Franklin Castellanos and women's water polo's Amy Olsen headlined the 2014 Senior Awards Banquet as the school's 2014 Joseph E. O'Connell Award Winners. The Gaels trio was named Iona's most outstanding senior student-athletes as 86 seniors were honored tonight at the Larchmont Shore Club.

The Joseph E. O’Connell Award is named for Iona’s first outstanding athlete. The son of immigrants, Joe O’Connell grew up in Corpus Christi Parish, Morningside Heights, and played basketball for the Brothers at All Hallows High School. Arriving at Iona in 1941, Joe joined the squad coached by Br. Arthur A. Loftus, CFC, and became the Gaels’ leading scorer his freshman season with 242 points. After Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II, Joe, together with most of his classmates, enlisted in the military. On September 5, 1943, Cpl. Joseph E. O’Connell, U.S. Army Air Corps, was killed in the South Pacific. He was the first Iona student to give his life in the service of his country. In 1946, Br. Loftus established this award in the memory of his player, and on December 7, 1948—the seventh anniversary of Pearl Harbor—Br. Loftus dedicated the new Iona field-house as the Joseph E. O’Connell Memorial Gymnasium. Although the gymnasium no longer stands, the talent, grace, and courage of Joe O’Connell continues to be memorialized through the lives of all the Iona Gaels who have earned the Joseph E. O’Connell Award.

Sean Armand, Men’s Basketball

  • Appeared in two NCAA Championships with the Gaels, and was a part of Iona’s 2013 MAAC Championship team
  • Two-time All-MAAC Selection
  • Seventh all-time in scoring at Iona with 1,694 career points
  • All-time leader in three point field goals with 348 and first in attempts with 807
  • All-time leader in games played with 137 and 11th all-time in assists with 294
  • Single season record 112 three point field goals as a junior
  • Career high 17.5 points per game as a senior, finishing fifth in the MAAC in scoring
  • In 2013-14, Armand was also second in the league in three pointers per game with 2.9 and three point field goal percentage, converting 44.0% of his attempts.

Franklin Castellanos, Men’s Soccer

  • Three-time First-Team All-MAAC Selection
  • 2013 MAAC Offensive Player of the Year and Capital One Academic All-America Selection
  • Two-time NSCAA All-North Atlantic Region All-Team Selection
  • Iona’s all-time leader in assists with 37, and second all-time in points with 71
  • Nation’s leader in assists and assists per game in 2011 and finished third in the category in 2013
  • Appeared in 74 games for Iona, tied for third most all-time
  • In 2013, led MAAC in points, points per game and assists
  • Four-time Dean’s List member and three-time MAAC All-Academic Team Selection

Amy Olsen, Women’s Water Polo

  • Three-time MAAC Champion and four-time All-MAAC Selection
  • 2013 and 2014 MAAC Offensive Player of the Year and the 2011 MAAC Rookie of the Year
  • All-time leading goal scorer in program history with 361 goals and second all-time in points with 443.
  • Fourth all-time in steals and first all-time in ejections drawn.
  • Scored 100 goals as a senior, becoming the first player in MAAC history to score 100 goals in two separate seasons
  • As a junior, tallied 128 points on 102 goals and 26 assists
  • Named All-American Honorable Mention and named to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team as a junior.
  • Two-time MAAC All-Academic Team Selection.

Two members of Iona's staff and administration were honored with the Br. John G. Driscoll Appreciation Award for their contributions to the athletic department. Iona's Facilities & Maintenance staff members Mike Overton and Sean Piggott were selected for their support of Iona College Athletics, our student-athletes, coaching staffs and administrators.

The 38 seniors earned the Merit Award for maintaining a 3.5 or above cumulative grade point average were:

Student-Athlete Sport Major
Alexander Abdalla Soccer Management
Ryan Bacci Swimming International Studies/French
Leanne Benson Soccer Childhood Education
Nicole Brancaccio Lacrosse Psychology
Charlie Butte Soccer International Business
Ellen Carberry Volleyball Marketing
Franklin Castellanos Soccer Management
Daniel Clorley Cross Country / Track Marketing
Nicole Cochran Cross Country / Track Information Systems
Haley D'Angelo Basketball Business Administration / Marketing
Sean Davis Water Polo Physics
Kerri-Anne Dodenhoff Swimming Adolescence Education
Brendan Farrell Cross Country / Track Finance
Jacquelyn Gates Soccer Psychology
Justin Grigull Swimming Management
Carly Haden Soccer Mass Communication
Katie Higgins Soccer Psychology
Stefen Hill Water Polo Marketing
Sophia Hyokyvaara Swimming International Studies
Tara Jameson Cross Country / Track Finance
Katie Jansson Softball Speech/Language Pathology & Audio
Nick Kotonias Swimming Political Science
Erika Lauraitis Water Polo Finance
Georgina Lee Water Polo English
Tommy Martin Soccer International Business
Eileen McCann Softball Marketing
Katie Niblock Cross Country / Track Psychology
Denis O'Connor Swimming Economics
Amy Olsen Water Polo Mass Communication
Nicole Paulucci Soccer Speech Communication
Alicja Pawelec Volleyball Chemistry
Trista Rivera Soccer Childhood Education
Sofia Sanchez Soccer Speech/Language Pathology & Audio
Maria Skeivys Swimming Biology
Mike Stabile Soccer Management
Ernest Stinebrickner Rowing Accounting
Paul Traut Soccer Accounting
Courtney Veilleux Cross Country / Track Biology

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above

IONA Men's Basketball


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages