Photo Store

Gaels Name 2011-12 Captains; Honor Top Performers

          Release: 08/29/2011
Print RSS
Article Image
NEW ROCHELLE, NY - Head swimming and diving coach Nick Cavataro has announced the Gaels' team captains for the upcoming 2011-12 campaign as well as the team’s 10-11 award winners.

On the women’s side, seniors Jamie Manser and Mackenzie Mone as well as junior Kara Nowakowski will captain the Gaels. 

Manser was the 2011 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Champion and is the Iona record holder in the 100 yd breaststroke. Manser was also selected as the team’s Most Valuable Performer for the 10-11 season. Mone was a consolation finalist in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyles a season ago while Nowakowski was fifth in the MAAC in the 1650 freestyle. 

Sophomores Kerri-Anne Dodenhoff and Melanie Dilascio were selected as Most Improved Performers. Dodenhoff, from Bethpage, NY, saw large time improvements in her events, including a fifth place finish at the MAAC Championship in the 100 breaststroke and important legs of the squad’s sprint relays. Dodenhoff was also the recipient of the squad’s Team Player Award. Dilascio provided valuable scoring in both the one and three-meter diving events a season ago.

The Hind Courage Award was presented to sophomore Sophia Hyokyvaara from Tikkakoski, Finland, who made the transition across the Atlantic to excel in the breaststroke and sprint fly events.

The team’s dedication award was presented to senior co-captain Christine Williams, of Bergenfield, NJ, who swam every freestyle event for the Gaels in the 10-11 season as well as individual medley and fly races.

On the men’s side, seniors Cameron Hudson and Raymond Joyal were selected as team captains for the upcoming season. Hudson was a consolation finalist in the 50 and 100 freestyles at the MAAC Championship a season ago. Joyal raced in the 400 IM and the 1000 and 1650 freestyles, posting ECAC qualifying times.

Sophomore Justin Grigull, who set team records in the 200 and 500-Freestyles and was the silver medalist at the MAAC Championship in the 200 freestyle was selected as the team’s Most Valuable Performer.

Sophomore Chris Giovine was selected as the Most Improved Swimmer. Giovine, was seventh in the MAAC Championship 200-Breastsroke and was a consolation finalist in the 100-Breast. 

The Men’s Dedication Award went to junior Zach Benoit of Agawam, MA. Benoit was an ECAC qualifier in the 1000 and 1650 freestyles.

Joyal was named the squad's Team Player Award winner with sophomore Ralph Porrazzo taking Rookie of the Year honors.

Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels