Photo Store
Article Image

Women's Water Polo Trio Earns All-MAAC Honors

          Release: 04/27/2012
Print RSS
POUGHKEEPSIE, NY - Iona College senior Cecilia Leonard and sophomore Amy Olsen earned First Team All-MAAC Honors, the Metro-Atlantic Athletic Conference announced today.  Senior Mackenzie Mone earned All-MAAC Second Team recognition, and head coach Brian Kelly was selected as the 2012 Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the Year.

Leonard scored 60 goals in her final season for the Gaels while also leading the Gaels in assists with 59. Olsen tied for the conference lead with 81 goals and tallied 95 points overall.  Mone this season found the net 71 times in 2012 for the Maroon & Gold.

Kelly led the Gaels to an overall record of 22-11, including an 11-1 mark in the MAAC, en route to earning the top seed in the 2012 MAAC Women's Water Polo Championship.  

Additionally, five student-athletes were named to the MAAC All-Academic Team.  Sophomores Erika Lauraitis, Georgina Lee and senior Caitlin McGregor as well as Mone and Olsen were among 41 student-athletes that recorded a grade point average of 3.2 or above.

Iona looks to capture its second consecutive MAAC Championship and a berth into the NCAA Championship this weekend at the 2012 MAAC Water Polo Championships at Marist College.  Iona, the regular season champions, are seeded first and take on fourth-seeded Villanova Saturday at 1 p.m., with the championship match scheduled for Sunday at 2 p.m.

All-MAAC First Team
Amy Olsen, Iona
Lauren French, Wagner
Chelsea Beck, Wagner
Cecilia Leonard, Iona
Katie Ness, Siena
Kelly Kline, Marist
Hannah Ishida, Villanova
Regina Toth, St. Francis (NY)
Laura Karbach, Wagner

All-MAAC Second Team
Desiree Desaulniers, Marist
Jaclyn Puccino, Marist
Mackenzie Mone, Iona
Robyn Crabtree, Marist
Paloma Szivos, St. Francis (NY) 
Molly Andoe, VMI
Rebecca Hannings, Wagner
Rebecca Thomas, Marist

Offensive Player of the Year
Chelsea Beck, Wagner

Co-Defensive Players of the Year
Rebecca Thomas, Marist
Katie Ness, Siena
Laura Karbach, Wagner

Rookie of the Year
Alison Hamby, Marist

Coach of the Year
Brian Kelly, Iona

Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels