Quartet Named To Men's Soccer Hermann Watch List
Courtesy: ICGaels.com  
Release: Wednesday 08/15/2012
NEW ROCHELLE, NY - Senior Ansger Otto, juniors Franklin Castellanos and Samuel Adjei and sophomore Borja Barbero were four of the 42 men picked as players to follow this season, as they were named to the Missouri Athletic Club's 2012 Hermann Trophy Watch List, the highest individual award in college soccer.

Iona leads the country with its four selections, twice as many as any other school in the nation.  Connecticut, Coastal Carolina, Memphis, Old Dominion, Furman, Maryland and New Mexico each have two players on the list.  Fifty-seven NCAA Division I schools throughout the United States are represented on this year’s men's and women's Watch Lists.  

Otto appeared in all 20 games for Iona in 2011, leading the Gaels with seven goals, including three game winners en route to All-MAAC and NSCAA All-North Atlantic First Team selections.

Castellanos appeared in 19 games for the Maroon & Gold, leading the Gaels in points with 20 (3g, 14a).  His 14 assists were the most in the country as was his 0.74 assists per game average while earning All-MAAC and NSCAA All-North Atlantic First Team First Team honors last season.

Adjei earned All-MAAC and NSCAA All-North Atlantic First Team honors after contributing 19 points on six goals and seven assists in his second season with the Gaels.  He had three game winners and a team high 27 shots on goal.

Barbero started all 20 games for the Gaels this season, allowing 19 goals for an impressive goals against average of 0.91.  He recorded 62 saves and four shutouts in his rookie season, earning NSCAA All-North Atlantic First Team and MAAC All-Rookie Team honors as well as on a spot on the All-Tournament Team at the 2011 MAAC Championship.

The list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards’ banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

IONA Men's Soccer


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages