Glover, Machado Named All-MBWA First Team
Release: Tuesday 04/26/2011
Courtesy: Warren Rosenberg
View larger

WHITE PLAINS, NY - Iona College men's basketball juniors Mike Glover and Scott Machado added to a lengthy list of postseason awards this year by being named to the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association All-Met First Team this morning. Glover and Machado will be honored at the 78th Haggerty Awards Dinner tonight at the Westchester Marriott.

The Iona duo is joined on the All-Met First Team by Hofstra senior Charles Jenkins - who earned the Haggerty Award for the Metropolitan Area's player of the Year, St. John's senior Dwight Hardy, Seton Hall senior Jeremy Hazell and Long Island University sophomore Julian Boyd.

Glover led the Gaels in scoring and rebounding averaging 18.4 points and 10.1 rebounds per game. He is the first Iona performer to average more than 10 rebounds per game and a double-double since Jeff Ruland in 1979-80. Glover shot 61.0% from the field in his first season in Maroon & Gold, with 21 double-doubles on the season.  Both statistics ranked No. 6 in the NCAA this season.

Machado was the Maroon & Gold's No. 2 scorer, averaging a career-best 13.2 points and top playmaker with 7.6 assists per game. The assist average and total were both Iona single-season school records. Machado ranked No. 2 among all NCAA Division I players in assists per game. His 281 helpers this season were more than any other NCAA performer this season.  Machado was named to the All-Met squad for the third straight season after a Third Team selection as a freshman and Second Team selection as a sophomore.

The tandem of Glover and have racked up several postseason honors prior to their All-Met Accolades.  They were both named to the All-MAAC First Team, MAAC All-Tournament, Mid-Major All-American and the All-Tournament teams.  Glover was named NABC All-District First Team while Machado earned Second Team honors.  In addition, Glover was named's MAAC Player of the Year and Basketball Times' NCAA Newcomer of the Year.

The Gaels completed the 2010-11 campaign with a 25-12 overall record after falling to Santa Clara in the Postseason Tournament championship game.  The squad set school records for games played, field goals, field goal attempts, three-point field goals, three-point field goal attempts, points scored, rebounds, assists, least turnovers per game and best assist-to-turnover ratio.  Iona also recorded its second highest assist pear game total and third best steal total in school history.
2010-11 MBWA All-Met Division I Men’s College Basketball Teams

Charles Jenkins, Hofstra
Dwight Hardy, St. John’s
Mike Glover, Iona
Scott Machado, Iona
Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall
Julian Boyd, LIU
Jonathan Mitchell, Rutgers
Justin Brownlee, St. John’s
D.J. Kennedy, St. John’s
Derek Needham, Fairfield
Chris Gaston, Fordham
Wesley Jenkins, Saint Peter’s
Noruwa Agho, Columbia
Jamal Olasewere, LIU
Justin Robinson, Rider
Tyler Murray, Wagner
George Beamon, Manhattan

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above

IONA Men's Basketball


Proud Sponsors
Smoke House
Coach USA
Censtar Energy
Tasti D Lite
Country Bank
Tailgate rotating
Pronto Pizza
Pepe Auto Group
J.P.'s Seafood Restaurant
Topside Lacrosse
Ivy Rehab
Avenue Deli
Hospital For Special Surgery
Shannon Beverages