Photo Store
Article Image
Courtesy: Stockton Photo Inc.

Martinez Named All-Met Rookie Of The Year

          Release: 04/25/2012
Print RSS
NEW YORK, NY - Iona College freshman guard Damika Martinez was named 2011-12 All-Met Division I women’s college basketball rookie of the year Tuesday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.

Martinez became the first freshman in Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference history to led the league in scoring, averaging 16.0 points per game.

"I am very proud of Damika for earning this very pretigous honor, said head coach Anthony Bozzella.  "It is even more impressive considering the quality of the other players eligible for this award."

Named to the 2012 All-MAAC Second Team, Martinez was the top freshman in rebounding (4.9), field goal percentage (41.2), and was third among MAAC Rookies in three-point field goal percentage (32.2). She was named the MAAC Rookie of the Week four times and MAAC Player of the Week on Jan. 9.

In the final statistical rankings released by the NCAA for the 2011-12 campaign, Martinez ranked 100th nationally in scoring, and had the fifth best points per game average amongst first-year players.

The All-Met players and coaches will be honored Thursday evening, April 26, at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, NY.

NEW YORK --- The 2011 12 All-Met Division I women’s college basketball team, announced Tuesday by the Met Basketball Writers Assn.

FIRST TEAM: Shenneika Smith, 6-1 junior guard, Brooklyn, N.Y., Nadirah McKenith, 5-7, jr, G, Newark, N.J., Da’Shena Stevens, 6-1, sr, F, Stamford, Conn., all St. John’s; Corielle Yarde, Marist, 5-8, sr, G, Reading, Pa.; April Sykes, Rutgers, 6-0, sr, F-C, Starksville, Miss.; Shante Evans, Hofstra, 6-0, jr, F, West Chester, Pa..

SECOND TEAM: Ashley Palmer, LIU Brooklyn, 5-10, sr, F, Oxford, Pa.; Jasmine Crew, Seton Hall, 5-8, sr, G, Camden, N.J.; Taryn Johnson, Fairfield, 5-11, sr, F, Brockton, Mass.; Mariyah Laury, FDU, 5-7, sr, F, Orange, N.J.; Khadijah Rushdan, Ruters, 5-9, sr, G, Wilmington, Del.

Player of the Year: Shenneika Smith, St. John’s
Coach of the Year: Kim Barnes Arico, St. John’s
Rookie of the Year: Damika Martinez, Iona

Follow the progress on Twitter by tweeting @ICGaels 
Quickly follow the Gaels on Twitter or Facebook with the buttons above
Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels