Photo Store
Article Image

Eleven Iona MWP Players Named To ACWPC All-Academic Team

          Release: 02/06/2017
Print RSS

NEW ROCHELLE, NY - 11 members of the Iona College Men's Water Polo squad were named to the 2016 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) All-Academic team. To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete's head coach must be a member of the ACWPC, while the athlete must attain to a GPA of 3.20 or above. A total of 357 athletes were named to the 2016 team.

Freshman Michael Banks and sophomore Jason Hill earned a score of "Outstanding," scoring a grade point average in excess of 3.71.

Four members of the Maroon & Gold earned a GPA between 3.41-3.70 earning the score of "Superior." Sophomores Bailey Lyons and Philip Wachowski, junior Marc Stauble, and senior Hudson Grieve were among the recipients.

Five Iona players were honored with an "Excellent," rating; placing a GPA between 3.20-3.40. The honorees included freshman Sebastian Van Reeken, sophomore Spencer Anthony, juniors Zach Roper and Andrew Judge, and senior Dan Fleck,

As a team, the Gaels team GPA accumulated to 3.00

Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels