Photo Store
Article Image

Rowing Takes To Schuylkill River In Philadelphia

          Release: 04/08/2017
Print RSS

PHILADELPHIA, PA - The Iona College Men's and Women's Rowing programs took to the Schuylkill RIver in Philadelphia to compete against La Salle and Manhattan. On the women's side, the women placed third in the varsity-four, second in the varsity-eight, and second in the second varsity-eight. The men finished behind La Salle in each of the four races.

For the women, in the varsity-four, the team of Coxswain Samantha Rambusch, followed by Kate Tagliareni, Daylin Salas, Natalie Jimenez and Christina Lamrioult placed third behind La Salle and Manhattan, finishing the race in 8:06.7.

In the women's varsity eight, coxswain Madison Kirch, followed by Allison Arluna, Brittany Quirino, Reise Manchester, Bailey Kross, Allison Kaufman, Adrianna Solhjoo, Serena Yanitelli, and Willow Held-Pistone placed ahead of Manhttan and slower than La Salle. The team completed the race in 7:00.47.

in the women's final race, the team of Coxswain Elise Tarrant followed by Emily Solomos, Margaret Baik, Alessandra Danyo, Julianna Lorusso, Lindsey Lee, Luka Summers, Delia Fernandez and Olivia Ayer finished 15 seconds behind Manhattan, finishing in a time of 7:39.5.

For the men, two Iona squads competed against La Salle, placing behind the Engineers and finishing within one second of each other. The Varsity-B squad placed ahead of Iona's first boat, finishing in 6:37.14, .40 seconds ahead of the first team. Coxswain Tyler Reynolds was followed by Patrick Drummond, Michael Pellegrino, Justin Brownell, Abraham Bluestone, Chad Doria, Matt Laliberte, Tim Strowbridge and Brad Wheaton. The first varsity squad placed third and consisted of Coxswain Bianca Mesqueue and followed by Logan Pietroforte, Steven Quirino, Barry James, Edward Gonzalez, Christian Carstensen, Nick Negron, Vito Roca and John Hidalgo finished in 6:36.74.

The Varsity-four was headed by Bianca Mesqueue and followed by Logan Pietroforte, Edward Gonzalez, Barry James and Nick Negron. The team finished in 6:36.5, nine seconds behind leader La Salle.

In the men's novice-four, the team consisting of Coxswain Tyler Reynolds, and followed by Thomas Hoehmann, Rocco Borghetti, Eric Berger, and Killian Kane finished in 7:30.5, 25 seconds behind La Salle.

The Gaels will return to row on April 22 in the Sacred Heart Invitational

Women's Varsity 4:
1. La Salle - 7:24.6
2. Manhattan - 7:32.5
3. Iona - 8:06.7
Men's Varsity 4:
1. La Salle - 6:27.0
2. Iona - 6:36.5
Men's Novice 4:
1. La Salle - 7:05.2
2. Iona - 7:30.5
Women's Second Varsity 8:
1. Manhattan - 7:24.5
2. Iona - 7:39.5
Women's Varsity 8:
1. La Salle - 6:52.19
2. Iona - 7:00.47
3. Manhattan - 7:15.7
Men's Varsity 8:
1. La Salle - 6:26.57
2. Iona - 6:36.74
3. Iona "B" - 6:37.14
1st Varsity 8
Coxswain- Bianca Mesqueue
Stroke - Logan Pietroforte
7- SteveN Quirino
6- Barry James
5- Edward Gonzalez
4- Christian Carstensen
3- Nicholas Negron
2- Vito Roca
Bow- John Hidalgo
2nd Varsity 8 (listed as Iona 'B' in the results)
Coxswain- Tyler Reynolds
Stroke - Patrick Drummond
7- Michael Pellegrino
6- Justin Brownell
5- Abraham Bluestone
4- Chad Doria
3- Matt Laliberte
2- Tim Strowbridge
1- Brad Wheaton
Men's Varsity 4
Coxswain- Bianca Mesqueue 
Stroke- Logan Pietroforte
3- Eddie Gonzalez
2- Barry James
1- Nick Negron
Men's Novice 4
Coxswain- Tyler Reynolds
Stroke- Thomas Hoehmann
3- Rocco Borghetti
2- Eric Berger
Bow- Killian Kane
Varsity 8
Coxen - Madi Kirch
Ally Arluna
Britt Quirino
Reise Manchester
Bailey Kross
Allison Kaufman
Adrianna Solhjoo
Serena Yanitelli
Willow Held-Pistone
Second Varsity 8
C- Elise Tarrant
Emily Solomos
Margaret Baik
Alessandra Danyo
Julianna Lorusso
Lindsey Lee
Luka Summers
Delia Fernandez
Olivia Ayer
Varsity 4
Samantha Rambusch
Kate Tagliareni
Daylin Salas
Natalie Jimenez
Christina Lamiroult
Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels