Photo Store
Article Image

Hameed & Capifali Honored At MAAC Honor Roll Dinner

          Release: 10/16/2016
Print RSS

SPRINGFIELD, MA – On Saturday, Oct. 15, the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference held its annual MAAC Honor Roll Dinner at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  Every member institution had one male and one female basketball player honored with distinction.

Kashif Hameed and Sandie Capifali were esteemed on behalf of the Iona College men’s and women’s basketball programs.

Kashif Hameed ‘99

Kashif Hameed ’99 was part of one of the Iona College men’s basketball program’s most successful stretch during his time with the Gaels from 1995-99. Iona won back-to-back MAAC regular season championships during his freshman and sophomore campaigns in 1995-96 and 1996-97. The program earned at-large bids to the National Invitation Tournament against Saint Joseph’s and Connecticut those seasons.

As a junior, Hameed led the Gaels to a MAAC tournament title and a berth in the 1998 NCAA Tournament. Iona drew Syracuse in a first round matchup in the South region at Rupp Arena in Lexington, KY.

Hameed earned All-MAAC honors in 1997 and 1998 and was named the 1998 MAAC Player of the Year. In 2010, Hameed joined the Iona College Goal Club Hall of Fame as the 25th member of the men’s basketball program to receive the distinction.

Sandie Capifali

Sandie Capifali was a catalyst in the creation of the Iona College women’s basketball program in the early 1970’s. Following the pioneering work of Iona Goal Club Hall of Fame members Jeanne Morris and Janice Ghiorsi, Capifali was hired as the head coach for the Maroon & Gold women’s basketball team in 1973. From that moment on, she pushed the program forward and found early success as the Maroon & Gold’s leader on the sideline. In her first season, Iona went 12-2, while winning the Dominican College Invitational Tournament.

From 1974 through 1984, Capifali led the Gaels to an overall 141-122 (.536) record. Iona joined the MAAC in its inaugural season of 1981-82 and she led the program in the league in her final three seasons as head coach.

The Iona duo joins the following Iona basketball legends named to the MAAC Hall of Fame Honor Roll in previous years:

Steve Burtt Sr. / Patty Reynolds-Basile
Dave Brown / Maggie Timoney
Kevin Hamilton / Celeste Grier-Johnathan
Sean Green / Noreen Winterfeldt
Pat Kennedy / Tony Horvath

Iona Insider
Coaches Corner: Pat Carey (4/7/17)
Connect with the Iona Gaels